Professional Development: Climate Literacy and Energy Awareness

From NAGTNews - Vol. 10 - Number 2 - March 2011

Climate Literacy and Energy Awareness Network (CLEAN) Professional Development Series The Climate Literacy and Energy Awareness (CLEAN) Pathway project (http://cleanet.org/index.html) is pleased to announce the launch of our professional development series to support teachers and faculty who teach about climate and energy. For middle and high school teachers, join us for a one hour webinar on Monday, April 11 : “It’s a Feast! Climate Resources Galore on NASA’s Global Climate Change Website," presented by Laura Faye Tenenbaum, NASA's Jet Propulsion Lab. Time – 4pm Pacific | 5pm Mountain | 6 pm Central | 7 pm Eastern . This event is free of charge but space is limited and pre-registration is required by Monday, April 4. For undergraduate faculty, join our online workshop to be held April 11 - 12 and 18 - 19: "Teaching Energy Awareness: Understanding Sources and Uses.” Workshop activities will include presentations about sources of energy, examples of successful activities illustrating the relationship between energy types and their uses, work time to develop new classroom activities or courses for teaching these concepts, and opportunities to collaborate with other faculty. The workshop is free of charge and will be held online so no travel is necessary. Space is limited and pre-registration is required by Friday, April 1. You must attend both sessions. For details about this event and to register, go to: http://cleanet.org/clean/community/energyworkshop/index.html

More events are coming up in May and June – find the full schedule on the CLEAN Community page.

Category: